Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows, by Isenbrant, 1518-35

There are two days we commemorate the dry martrydom of Our Lady — September 15 and today. The Mass in September is devoted more specifically to her 7 Sorrows; the Mass today focuses on her compassion and what she suffered during the first Passiontide. To that end, the Sequence read after the Epistle, Gradual, and Tract consists of the haunting Stabat Mater, the text of which was written by St. Thomas Aquinas.

The Seven Sorrows of Our Lady are:

“The Prophecy of Simeon
The Flight into Egypt
The Loss of Jesus in the Temple
The Meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross
The Crucifixion
The Taking Down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross
Jesus laid in the Tomb”

Continue Reading